Hey ya’ll,

 

It’s Bianca again, and my life has been going through some changes which have me evaluating this blog and how it relates to my life.  So let me tell you a little story.  When I started Forever the Queerest Kids, it was my lifeblood.  I had just finished my first year at American and I was working 2 (soon to be 3) part-time jobs to recover the money I desperately needed to finance my semester abroad the coming year.  My girlfriend, Beth, had just left for a nine-week Russian intensive program which only allowed us to speak once a week for about 20 minutes.  I was lonely and exhausted and needed something to feel like I was contributing to the world in a meaningful way.

Since then, I have studied abroad in Kenya, graduated from American, gotten engaged, took my first full-time job, and lost that job.  During all of this, I tried to keep up my writing because I really felt that the world needed what I was talking about and that I would eventually be able to really commit myself to this project again.  I love writing and I love sexuality education, and Forever the Queerest Kids was a place to give voice to that,

To date, Forever the Queerest Kids has over 150 articles.  Unfortunately, writing here lost some of the joy that it originally had.  I’m so glad to have created a forum for important sex-positive ideas to be spread, but I don’t think I have the energy to continue.

At the same time, I really don’t want to see this project die.  For now, Forever the Queerest Kids is going into hibernation.  I’m going to post a few link dumps with articles I’ve found curious or insightful or thought provoking, which I just haven’t had time or energy for a full blog post.

I will also be searching for anyone that is interested in “inheriting” the blog.  I’d be more than happy to share stats on readership and publishing for those who might be interested in the project.  I’d really like to see this taken over by someone with a passion for sex-positivity, rather than seeing it fade into a relic of the blogosphere.

If you are interested, please leave a comment here or contact me at bonkiep@gmail.com

Until then, stay cool, queer kids.

